This Week's Headlines

Mother allegedly murders 2-month-old son

NASA joins Ellington spaceport project

Manzanales sentenced in HPD scheme

Police investigate burglary ring

SJC dance show set for Nov. 20, 21

Deputies warn of local check scam

PLT presents A Tuna Christmas

Harris Co. update on submerged vehicle removal pilot project

Westbrook Intermediate, League City Intermediate robotic teams headed to Regional Championship

Stuchbery Elementary releases first 9-weeks honor, merit and perfect attendance rolls

Fred Roberts Middle School lists first nine-weeks rolls

Brook debate team excels at South Houston

Thanksgiving holiday observed at UHCL

Shop for the holidays during annual art sale

Community invited to classical concert

Melillo Middle School announces first nine-weeks honor rolls

San Jacinto College veteran students awarded scholarships on Veterans Day

College on Military Friendly Schools List for 6th time

Texas school districts must be permitted to protect homeschooled children’s right to an education

Area author Johnson publishes book, Collection of Texas Stories

University of Houston-Clear Lake named partnership site in national physics initiative

Thompson students earn place in Region 19 Choir

McDonald’s Texas Invitational hits area

San Jac boys, Bondy girls win PISD cross-country championships

San Jacinto College volleyball team playing at nationals

Alumni Challenge trophy named after coaching greats Carlisle, Talton

North Shore’s quick-strike offense knocks out Dobie

BAFL’s Dolphins, Cowboys fall

Brook girls’ hoops on a roll

Mother allegedly murders 2-month-old son

A mother is accused of stabbing her 2-month-old son to death early Tuesday, Nov. 17, at her apartment in the 10100 block of Windmill Lakes Boulevard near Stover.

Rochelle Brown, 28, is charged with capital murder in the death of her infant son Levi Thornton-Smith. She is being held without bond.

Brown was scheduled to appear in court early Wednesday but was unable to be present due to a psychological evaluation.

According to police, officers responded to a call on the third story of the Longboat Key Apartments around 2:30 a.m. to find the infant stabbed several times in the torso, while Brown was surrounded by multiple knives and covered in blood.

Brown’s two other children, ages 5 and 8, and Brown’s adult sister were also in the apartment at the time of the stabbing. The family had recently moved to the area from Nebraska after Brown separated with the father of the baby boy.

Brown’s sister told investigators she was awakened in the middle of the night by Brown, who was acting erratically and holding the child in an inappropriate manner. Brown’s sister said she was assaulted by Brown after telling her to go back to bed.

Brown reportedly threw the baby onto the bed and returned with a knife. Brown’s sister attempted to fight her sister off but was overpowered.

The original knife was reportedly broken during the struggle, and Brown returned to the bedroom with a second one. Brown’s sister then went to a neighbor’s apartment for help. When Brown’s sister and the neighbor returned to the apartment, they saw Brown allegedly stabbing the baby as he screamed.

Following the stabbing, Brown was reportedly pacing around the bedroom repeating, “I need Jesus, I need Jesus.”

Paramedics took Brown to Ben Taub Hospital for a mental and physical evaluation. After her release from the hospital, Brown was charged with capital murder.

Investigators are looking into whether or not Brown was suffering from postpartum depression.

Brown has found an ally in Houston attorney George Parnham, who defended Andrea Yates in 2001 after she drowned her five children in a bathtub. Yates was sentenced to life in prison after being convicted of capital murder, but an appeals court later found her not guilty by reason of insanity, and she was subsequently sentenced to a mental facility.

Brown is currently being held in Harris County jail. Her other two children are being placed with an aunt under the supervision of Child Protective Services.

NASA joins spaceport project

The Houston Airport System (HAS) and NASA have entered into an agreement Thursday, Nov. 5, that will allow the new commercial spaceport developing at Ellington Airport (EFD) to tap into the federal space agency’s assets and expertise, expanding the possibilities for the growing commercial spaceflight industry.

Under the umbrella agreement – made possible by NASA’s Safety and Mission Assurance Directorate — HAS and NASA will collaborate, providing access to a number of the unique capabilities at the Johnson Space Center (JSC), including things like safety-specific training, facilities, and technology capabilities, to support suborbital operations and commercial spaceflight endeavors.

“The Johnson Space Center represents an invaluable asset for the entire city of Houston and especially for those of us who are working to establish Houston Spaceport as a force within the aerospace industry,” says Houston Airport System Director Mario C. Diaz. “One of the primary reasons why the city of Houston made such perfect sense as the site for the nation’s 10th commercial spaceport is the existence of strong intellectual capital at JSC and the willingness of their leadership team to form substantive partnerships.”

The Houston Spaceport at EFD became the 10th commercial spaceport in the United States when it received a license from the Federal Aviation Administration in June 2015 to support operations of horizontally launched Reusable Launch Vehicles (RLVs). The agreement with NASA offers access to the JSC’s unique capabilities in several areas, including risk analysis, engineering analysis, mission operations, training, spacecraft systems testing and mission execution.

The ultimate goal is to make the Houston Spaceport a focal point for aerospace innovation — a regional center for a cluster of aerospace entities that would act as an incubator for aerospace innovation and growth. As part of this effort, HAS is developing a design center that will facilitate collaboration between NASA, the FAA, and the aerospace industry.

System Safety Fundamentals training stresses the analytical process of system safety management and hazard analysis of hardware, software, and operations. Additional concepts and principles are introduced on risk assessment, risk management, and hazardous operations. The NASA Safety Training Center (NSTC) at the Johnson Space Center provides unique safety training that enables students to meet uniform engineering/technical requirements for processes, procedures, practices and methods that have been endorsed as a standard for NASA programs and projects.

Unlike system safety training available in the commercial marketplace, NASA’s course provides examples and discussion specifically related to aerospace. A system safety course with a focus on aerospace is directly applicable to the types of operations envisioned to be conducted at the Houston Spaceport. In addition, NSTC instructors provide training on the causes and outcomes of aerospace accidents and incidents which is not available from other sources.

The agreement helps NASA achieve its functions as expressed in the National Aeronautics and Space Act to “seek and encourage, to the maximum extent possible, the fullest commercial use of space.” In addition, because safety is a core value at NASA, this partnership helps NASA in its mission to transfer its knowledge and expertise in system safety to the private sector as part of its mission to disseminate information, to enable it to encourage the development of a commercial space sector mission operations capability for operating in low Earth orbit.

Return to top of page

E-mail with news items of interest.